Involuntary Reboot #3 – Trackpad Issues

I just had to reboot my MacBook Pro because the trackpad started to act all weird after waking from sleep. Like I described here.

This is a brand new MacBook Pro, which had it’s main logic board replaced two days ago as a result f completely failing keyboard and trackpad.

I’m running OS X 10.5.1 and I did a clean install and then transferred my home directory. I have NO weird software installed that could mess with USB related things.

Leopard has some SERIOUS issues with this hardware.

The problem is, I simply don’t trust my Mac anymore. I expect it to stop working any minute. Which is not really good if you do all your professional work on that machine.

In other words. I’ve lost confidence in OS X and the MacBook Pro. Very sad.

3 comments so far

  1. Arun on

    Good reviews on Mac, buddy. When the world is saying that its great, you make them look around. I had plans for buying a mac book which i have dropped now. 😉

  2. macsavvyitguy on

    Let’s not go over the top here fellas…

    I too had this problem until I removed a third party dashboard widget.

    I was all proud of myself for days until the trackpad shudders came back.

    I will do more TS to isolate this little bug and report my 01001

  3. Suneet on

    I’ve been using macs since Jaguar and have had zero hardware issues until Leopard came out, namely an erratic keyboard and mouse. When these freeze up, more often than not they lead to a kernel panic and the forced restart screen. I’ve done a fair bit of searching on the net to pinpoint the actual cause. Some suggest a swollen battery, others a faulty logic board. Most seem to think it’s a hardware or software issue. The macbook pro software update was said to have included a fix for the keyboard issue, but in my experience, the keyboard still fails, although not as frequently after installing that update. The funny thing is, my mbp is over a year old, and these issues only arose a few days ago, completely out of the blue? I really hope that the 10.5.2 update includes a fix. It certainly is an odd situation. I have a certain amount of confidence that Apple will sort it out, but if I was in the market for a new laptop, I’d hang on buying an apple until these issues have been resolved once and for all.


Leave a Reply

